Please visit sonic bids to view our FULL electronic press kit

Artist Info

Label: Independent

Genre: Rock / Funk / Groove / Psychedelic

Hometown: Cincinnati

Venues played: Madison Theater, RiversEdge Amphitheatre, Riverfront Live, Bogarts, The Redmoor, Fountain Square (Cincinnati), The Southgate House Revival, MOTR, The Melody Inn (Indianapolis), The Union (Athens), Spirit (Pittsburgh), The Cobra (Nashville), Arlene's Grocery (NYC)


  • 1st place in the Madison Theater Band Challenge 2018

  • Cincinnati Entertainment Award nominee for Best Rock Act 2018.

  • The University Network’s #3 band for college students to watch in 2018. 

  • UK Rock Blogger Pete Divine’s Album of the Year 2017

  • 1st Place in Cincinnati’s Next Big Band Competition 2017

  • Featured in the opening scene of award-winning film director Martin Neveu’s short film, “Feeling Station”.

  • Supporting act for Richie Ramone (of The Ramones), LITZ, The Bronson Arroyo Band, Bad Veins, and more.

  • Shared the stage with The Floozies, Badfish, Marbin,After Funk, Arlo McKinley & The Lonesome Sound, and many more.

  • Selected to play at BLINK, Jersey Shore Music Festival, OHMSTEAD Music Festival, Fifty Fest (Fifty West Brewing Co.), Rhythm Brew Music & Arts Festival (x2), Hippie Fest (x2), and Wham Bam Thank U Jam Music Festival.

  • Local & national FM radio airplay.

  • Local, national, & international online radio airplay.

  • 30,000+ combined streams on major music platforms.




“Truly stunning varied selection - current and original yet so evocative of years gone by - a true pleasure to have heard it

— Donald Strachen on the Radio

“For me it is my 2017 Album of the Year and it will take a lot for any band to beat it.

— Pete Divine - Pete's Rock News and Views

    “Discovering Freak Mythology, a four piece from Cincinnati, is a refreshing breath of Americana-embedded alternative rock and roll.

— Charles Frank - The Jamwich Magazine

    “That’s the great thing about what I do, every once in a while you get to hear that band that just ‘clicks’. Freak Mythology clicks.

— Pete Divine - Pete's Rock News and Views

“The record features shuffling drums that you can’t help but nod to, clever guitar and bass riffs, and tight vocals.

— Abby Kruthoffer - The Indie Sound

Full Biography

Freak Mythology was formed in 2012 as a psychedelic and funk rock experiment in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Funk. Psychedelia. Classic rock ‘n’ roll. This sound has earned them an Album of the Year award from UK Rock Blogger Pete Divine, 1st place in the famous Madison Theater Band Challenge, 1st place in the Cincinnati’s Next Big Band competition, tours across the Midwest & east coast, hundreds of copies of their debut album sold, tens of thousands of streams, song placements in films by award winning directors, and placement on radio stations in Cincinnati amidst numerous stations across the country. 

Influenced by a wide array of genres, Freak Mythology mixes funk grooves with an underlying psychedelia that conceives a substantial tone of liveliness, with an honest intent. This creates sound that has been described as "so wonderfully familiar and timeless yet absolutely fresh, and not in any way a lame attempt to simply replicate the sounds from years gone by” by music blogger Donald Strachen. 

In April of 2017, Freak Mythology released their self-titled debut record, focusing on their foundation in sound and premonition. Featuring the songs 'House Arrest', ‘Haunting Me’, ‘Wake Up’, the mid-album instrumental ‘Surge', 'Get Goin’, ‘Headed Out’, and ‘Where Does the Time Go’, showing elements of the musical diversity in Freak Mythology, and illustrating not only the intense dynamics and complex abilities of the members but also the deeper meanings that are created within the songwriting.

Currently, Freak Mythology is writing, creating, and playing their music around the midwest and furthering the reach of their sound. In their live show, frontman Brad Wehlitz, guitarist Ryan Shephard, bassist Caroline Joseph, and percussionist Travis Hanna come together, in order to bring together.

Brad Wehlitz / Lead Vocals, Guitar

Ryan Shephard / Vocals, Guitar

Caroline Joseph / Vocals, Bass

Travis Hanna / Percussion


Full size 5 piece drum kit (Bass drum, snare, 2 mounted tom drums, 2 floor toms, hi-hat, ride, 2 crash cymbals)

1969/70 Fender Twin Reverb tube amplifier

1973 Fender Super Reverb tube amplifier

Mark Bass bass amplifier with DI features

3'x 2' Furman Pedalboard

2'x 1' Boss Pedalboard

Required (Optional but preferred)

3 vocal microphones

3 microphone stands

2 dynamic microphones for guitar amplifiers

Drum microphones